Webb County Graphic Banner and County Seal
Skip Navigation Links

Justice of the Peace Precint 4
8501 San Dario
Laredo, Texas 78045
Mon-Fri 8am - 5pm
Closed Weekends and Holidays
Traffic Division
Phone: 956-523-4840 (Opt 1)
Fax: 956-718-8561
Civil Division
Phone: 956-523-4840 (Opt 2 or 3)
Fax: 956-721-0670
Now Accepting Credit Cards
(a service charge fix or 3% will be
added to your charge for each
Skip Navigation Links
  • image01
  • image01
  • image01
  • image01
  • image01


This is general information only concerning uncontested procedural matters. This information is not intended to constitute legal advice or to take the place of an attorney. The Judge and the court staff are not allowed to give you legal advice or act as your attorney. When you choose to represent yourself in court, it is your responsibility to protect your rights by informing yourself of law and procedures that affect your case.

There are alternatives to filing a lawsuit such as the Dispute Resolution Center, Better Business Bureau, Laredo Board of Realtors, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Department of Insurance, The Texas Workforce Commission, and other organizations and agencies, which might better serve your needs.

If you decide to file a lawsuit and you obtain a judgment, the debtor will have thirty (30) days in which to pay the judgment.


A party may appeal the Justice Court’s judgment by filing a bond, making a cash deposit, or filing a sworn statement of inability to pay. The filing fee is $10.00.

Debt Claims/Small Claims - 21 days after the judgment is signed or the motion to reinstate, motion to set aside, or motion for new trial, if any, is denied.

Forcible Entry and Detainer (Eviction) Claims - 5 days after the judgment is signed.


Abstract of Judgment

The day the judgment is rendered, you may obtain an Abstract of Judgment. The filing fee is $5.00. You must file this document with the Webb County Clerk’s office. An additional recording fee applies. Please contact County Clerk’s office to obtain information at 956-523-4266.

The abstract of judgment informs the county in which you have filed it that there is a judgment against the debtor and it creates a judgment lien on the debtor's real estate in that county. The judgment is also noted on the debtor's credit report.

Writ of Execution

The fee for this writ is $130.00. The Writ of Execution is an attempt to seize the debtor's non-exempt property to satisfy your judgment. The Constable’s office will execute and advise you of their collection efforts.

There are other remedies available in addition to the Writ of Execution, but they are even more complex. Relevant law for these remedies can be found in the Texas Property Code, the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and elsewhere. The best advice is to consult an attorney.

Webb County & Texas State Image, Footer
Webb County Orange with Blue outline & Texas State Image, Footer